DIY Headboard

While deep in the midst of apartment hunting, I can’t stop thinking about interior design options almost as obsessively as trying to find a place. Home decor has been a bittersweet topic for me ever since graduating and “becoming an adult”. Options are expensive and the amount of decor and furniture you need to fill a space can be overwhelming not just in price but also in finding that perfect piece.

I’ve been browsing sites like West Elm and CB2 for inspiration lately, but figured I would talk about one of the most innovative and inexpensive home design moves I ever pulled: making my own headboard! Since I was bringing my old bed from home when moving into my first apartment, and it didn’t have a gorgeous headboard to elevate the style, my parents and I got creative and made our own.

fotor edit 1.jpg

My Dad was kind enough to form together the headboard with old wood from the basement. All you need are four 2×4’s and use a drill to combine them into a rectangle with extra hanging off the end pieces for the legs. [We had measured out the width of my full length bed before starting this endeavor]. We then added a flat piece of plywood to the top and bottom to solidify the “box” we had just made.

My mom and I hit the craft store, and picked up a couple yards of batting (like you use for quilt making) and some plain color fabric that would match my design ideas. Batting is basically the inside of the quilt that makes it puffy, so using it on my headboard made it soft and comfortable so that I could still lean up against it while sitting around in bed.

DSC00091.JPG

Next we grabbed the staple gun and proceeded to stretch the batting first and fabric second around the headboard to secure it. The result was clean and chic and added the right pop of color to the apartment space. The whole project cost me around $30.

Would love to hear about more of your creative apartment DIY ideas!

fotor edit 2.jpg

Leave a Reply

